Agenda Item 1



Minutes of a meeting of the Constitution Committee held at County Hall, Glenfield on Friday, 16 September 2016.

PRESENT

Mr. N. J. Rushton CC (in the Chair)

Dr. R. K. A. Feltham CC Mr. J. B. Rhodes CC Mr. S. J. Galton CC Mr. R. Sharp CC

47. Appointment of Chairman.

That Mr N. J. Rushton CC be elected Chairman for the period ending with the date of the Annual Meeting of the County Council in 2017.

Mr N. J. Rushton CC - in the Chair

48. Election of Deputy Chairman.

That Mr. J. B. Rhodes CC be appointed Deputy Chairman for the period ending with the Annual Meeting of the County Council in 2017.

49. Minutes of the previous meeting.

The minutes of the meeting held on 8 January 2016 were taken as read, confirmed and signed.

50. Question Time.

The Chief Executive reported that no questions had been received under Standing Order 35.

51. Questions asked under Standing Order 7(3) and 7(5).

The Chief Executive reported that no questions had been received under Standing Order 7(3) and 7(5).

52. <u>Urgent Items.</u>

There were no urgent items for consideration.

53. <u>Declarations of interest.</u>

The Chairman invited members who wished to do so to declare any interest in respect of items on the agenda for the meeting.

No declarations were made.

54. Review and Revision of the Constitution.

The Committee considered a report of the Chief Executive which recommended changes to the Constitution. A copy of the report marked 'Agenda Item 8' is filed with these minutes.

RESOLVED:

That the County Council be recommended to approve the proposed changes to the Constitution as set out in Appendix 1 to the report.

55. Appointment of Independent Persons.

The Committee considered a report of the Chief Executive regarding the appointment of Independent Persons to support the Member Conduct Complaints Process. A copy of the report, marked 'Agenda Item 9', is filed with these minutes.

RESOLVED:

That the Committee:

- (a) Recommends the County Council appoint Mr Surrinder Sharma, Mr Gordon Grimes, Mrs Jayne Kelly, Professor David Bonner and Mr Michael Pearson to serve as Independent Persons for a term of four years ending on 30 September, 2020;
- (b) Supports the proposals for payment to the independent persons on a daily rate basis in line with allowances paid for jury service.

1.30 - 1.35pm16 September 2016

CHAIRMAN